2021 AfMA Fleet Awards

20 May, Palladium at Crown

Level 1 Crown Towers, Crown Melbourne, 8 Whiteman St, Southbank VIC 3006


300+ Attendees /   20 May 2021

26 Years / 75+ Winners

Recognizing Fleet Excellence Since 1996

The Australasian Fleet Management Association supports innovation and excellence in Fleet Management. The AfMA Fleet Awards seek to identify advances in best practice in Fleet Management and to bring these to the attention of its members and the industry. Since their introduction in 1996, the awards have recognized new approaches and applications that have produced substantial reductions in costs, lowered emissions, and improved safety outcomes. Drawing attention to advances in fleet management techniques, the application of technology, fleet safety and raising awareness of the fleets’ impact on the environment, the Awards have inspired many to begin their own voyage towards best practice.

Award Categories

Fleet Manager of the Year

Demonstrating the highest level of excellence in delivering safety, efficiency, effectiveness and overall proficiency in managing their fleet

– Sponsored by BP

Fleet Environment

Ensuring an achievable environmental trajectory underpins the organization’s footprint reduction, waste minimization, and overall vehicle and driver efficiency increase

– Sponsored by Hyundai Motor Company Australia

Fleet Safety

Amplifying the importance of driver, vehicle and operational safety industry-wide by delivering on strategies passionately focused on operating the safest fleet possible

– Sponsored by Teletrac Navman and Innovation Group

Where is

Palladium at Crown

Located on the Yarra River, Crown Towers Melbourne is one of city’s most loved hotels. Palladium at Crown is at Level 1 Crown Towers, Crown Melbourne, 8 Whiteman St, Southbank VIC 3006, Australia.



Paul Sor

Australian Red Cross

Moreland City Council


UEM Edgenta

View All

Fleet Manager of the Year Awards

2020Paul SorAustralian Red Cross
2018/2019John BarlowNSW Department of Industry
2017Peter Armour
Life Without Barriers
2016Catherine Parker

2015David Stephenson RCR Tomlinson
2014Kevin McEwen Melbourne Health
2013Michael Giardullo Commonwealth Bank of Australia
2012Mark Stephens Uniting Care Qld
2011Lauren O’Rourke PPG Industries
2010Gabriel Miltenhoff Ambulance Victoria
2009Quenten Shepherd Centacare
2008Richard Schuster Churches of Christ Care
2007Frank Melilli Victoria Police
2006Ted Jewell Salvation Army
2005Donna Robertson Johnson & Johnson
2004Gary Chamberlain Elders Australia
2003Brendan Stooke Telstra
2002Les Clarence Q Fleet
2001Ian Stubbs Redland Shire Council
2000Don Mansell GM, NSW State Services
1999Jim Maher City of Wodonga Council
1998Gail Casey Fleet SA
1996Robert Cook Brotherhood of St Laurence
1995Neville Thiele University of South Australia

Fleet Safety Awards

2020Mohd Azreen Bin M AbdanUEM Edgenta
2018/2019OwenBoardNew Zealand Racing Richard
2017Nicky Bree
Tourism Holidays Australia
2016Kasey Caston

DHL Supply Chain

2015Tim Smith Country Fire Authority
2014Susan Allen Beaurea of Meteorology
2013Debby Henwood Visionstream
2012Catherine King Coca Cola Amatil New Zealand
2011Jon Horsey Redland City Council
2010Mark Stephens Blue care
2009Matthew Leyson Dept Transport, Energy & Infrastructure
2008Christine Walker DBP / WestNetEnergy
2007Jann White Roche
2006Gary Chamberlian Elders
2005John Kulg Aurora Energy
2004Gary Glover Victoria Police
2003Richard Schuster Australian Transport Safety Beareau
2002N/A Q Fleet
2001N/ASouthern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils
2000Beth Plowman QLD Transport
1999Colin Tizzard Lumley Insurance
1998N/AOrica Australia & Q-Fleet Brisbane

Fleet Environment Awards

2020Mario SansottaMoreland City Council
2018/2019Nicholas RobillardMeridian Energy
2017Richard Schuster
Churches of Christ in QLD
2016Jan Zagari

Austin Health

2015Wendy Meesen Deakin University
2014Darren Comi City Of Melbourne
2013Steve Simmons Tas Dept of Health & Human Services
2012Bob Smith City of Sydney
2011Glenn Hattander Lake Macquarie City Council
2010Gabriel Miltenhoff Uniting care Wesley Adelaide
2009Quenten Shepherd Alan Johnson
2008Kenton Muller TOLL IPEC
2007Geoff Dunne Newcastle City Council
2006Doug Tyler State Fleet WA
2005Raymond Wilson Sutherland Shire Concil
2004Bruce Cunningham Dept of Agriculture
2003Peter Aston Waverley Council
2002N/AQ Fleet
2001Patrick Williams Australia Post
2000Kevin Black Liverpool City Council
1999N/ARoad Transport Authority NSW

Our Sponsors

Event Partners & Network Dinner Sponsors

27 years as the peak industry body – linking people & knowledge, creating outcomes

Our Events & Dates

2 Days

3 - 4 May, 2022

40+ Exhibitors

35+ Speakers


20+ Educational Sessions


 Corporate Partners